World Travel Tours

How is Campagnolo down to one team in the WorldTour, why does SRAM supply seven women’s teams and what does Shimano pay Ineos? We asked the questions…

In 2023 just one team’s bike’s will be fitted with Campagnolo components – the BMCs of French team Ag2r-Citroën (opens in new tab). Beautiful bikes though they are, it’s hard not to look at them and wonder whether or not they’re a dying breed.

In the women’s WorldTour Campagnolo does not supply any teams at all.

SRAM equips three of the 18 men’s WorldTour teams and seven of the 15 women’s WorldTour teams, while the rest are on Shimano. However, as we’ll see later, Shimano only actually sponsors nine teams, with the rest buying their own groupsets.

Ag2r BMC with Campagnolo groupset

(Image credit: BMC)

The number of Campagnolo-sponsored teams has been steadily dwindling over the last 10 years. It held steady at three in the men’s WorldTour between 2015 and 2020 and was boosted temporarily to four in 2021 with the addition of Ag2r to Cofidis, Lotto and UAE. 

Tadej Pogacar’s wins on his Campagnolo Super Record EPS-equipped Colnago V3RS in 2020 and 2021 were a good reason to dust off the famous corkscrew at Vicenza after six years since the previous win (Vincenzo Nibali in 2014).

Tadej Pogacar in yellow on the Champs Elysees

(Image credit: Getty Images)

But 2022 saw Lotto move to Shimano and for the 2023 season both UAE and Cofidis will be on Dura-Ace.

For Campagnolo aficionados it’s justifiably a cause for concern, especially if you compare the numbers even further back. Going back 20 years, we counted that Campagnolo supplied more teams in that year’s Tour de France than Shimano – 12 out of the total 22.

Jan Ullrich on a Walser TT bike in the 2003 Tour de France

(Image credit: Yuzuru Sunada)

And of course the iconic Italian brand has many, many more Tour wins in its palmares than Shimano or SRAM. At last count it was 43 to Campagnolo, 11 to Shimano (Lance Armstrong’s seven wins having been stripped from its total) and two to SRAM (Contador’s 2010 win isn’t included in the total, the one with the clenbuterol-contaminated steak).

Source link

[gs_pinterest id=1]

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button