Travel Experiences



This evening (6 September), the winners of the Guild of Food Writers Annual Awards were announced at a ceremony in front of an audience of the UK’s best-known food writers and broadcasters at the Royal Institution’s world-famous theatre.

Compered by Saturday Kitchen presenter and chef Matt Tebbutt, the Awards, now in their 26th year, champion excellence in the industry, recognising the achievements of current and emerging food and drink writers, broadcasters and personalities.

The winners, across 16 categories, were selected by a diverse panel of Guild members and include Ken Hom CBE for a lifetime achievement award; Mark Hix for work published in the Telegraph Magazine; Jimi Famurewa for restaurant writing; and Claire Ruston in the newcomer category for Two packets of Bourbons and a packet of Hobnobs: The food journey of a Brit in Bulgaria.

The Guild’s patron Delia Smith presented a special award to #CookForUKRAINE and specifically to Olia Hercules and Alissa Timoshkina’s remarkable work in supporting people and children impacted by the conflict in Ukraine.

Full list of award winners:

Lifetime Achievement Award

Ken Hom CBE


First Book

A Dark History of Sugar by Neil Buttery

(Sponsored by Sea Sisters)


Food Book

English Food: A People’s History by Diane Purkiss


Food Podcast or Broadcast

The Full English by Lewis Bassett and Forest DLG

(Sponsored by Trewithen Dairy)


Food Magazine or Section

Pit Magazine: Edited by Helen Graves

(Sponsored by Lakeland)


Food Writing

Bee Wilson for work published in The Guardian and The London Review of Books

(Sponsored by Tebay/Gloucester Westmorland Family)


General Cookbook

Cooking: Simply and Well, for One or Many by Jeremy Lee

(Sponsored by Uncharted Wines)


International or Regional Cookbook

The Nutmeg Trail by Eleanor Ford

(Sponsored by J Pao)


Investigative Food Work

The Great Plant-Based Con by Jayne Buxton


Online Food Writer

Bald Flavours by Sam Wilson

(Sponsored by Sacla’)


Recipe Writing

Mark Hix for work published in the Telegraph Magazine

(Sponsored by Gold Top)


Restaurant Writing

Jimi Famurewa for work published in Evening Standard

(Sponsored by Caulishoots®)


Specialist or Single Subject Cookbook

Tomato by Claire Thomson


Drinks Writing

Mark Dredge for articles published on and in Ferment Magazine

(Sponsored by Cipriani)


Drinks Book

Cider Planet by Claude Jolicoeur



Fifty Years – Kinloch Lodge by Claire Macdonald, Jordan Webb and Alisha Fernandez Miranda



Claire Ruston

(Sponsored by Cornish Sea Salt)

Special Award


The Guild of Food Writers is very grateful to this year’s Awards’ sponsors:

Caulishoots® Restaurant Writing Award; Cipriani Drinks Writing Award; Cornish Sea Salt Newcomer Award; Gold Top Recipe Writing Award; J Pao International or Regional Cookbook Award; Lakeland Food Magazine or Section Award; Sacla’ Online Food Writing Award; Sea Sisters First Book Award; Tebay/Gloucester Westmorland Family Food Writing Award; Trewithen Dairy Food Broadcast or Podcast Award; Uncharted Wines General Cookbook Award.

For more information, please contact Amber Wheatley at Roche Communications on 020 7436 1111 or

The Guild of Food Writers

follow on Instagram | follow on Twitter | forward to a friend


Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button