Opening 15th February 2024 !
Nicholson’s Pubs Collections is proud to announce a significant investment in the extensive refurbishment of its iconic establishment, Doggett’s Coat and Badge on Blackfriar’s Bridge, London. The new venue is set to open its doors to the public on the 15th of February 2024.
The investment in the pub has been directed towards enhancing various aspects of its facilities, specifically, the focus has been on upgrading the bars, meeting spaces, and private hire areas within the pub. Additionally, improvements have been made to the extensive outside drinking and dining areas, creating a more appealing and comfortable environment for guests to enjoy unrivalled views of the Thames.
The unusual name pays tribute to Thomas Doggett, the organiser of the London Bridge to Chelsea rowing race along the Thames, which is said to be the oldest continuous sporting event in the UK. First held in 1715, the race takes place in July each year and runs over four miles and seven furlongs. The winner of the boat race would be awarded a waterman’s coat and badge, hence the name ‘Doggett’s Coat and Badge’. When Doggett died in 1721, he left instructions in his will for the race to be carried on by The Fishmongers’ Company, and it still is today. The Doggett’s Coat and Badge sits along the course of the race in South Bank, so we felt it only right that it was named after its founder. The family of Lewis Window, General Manager of Doggett’s Coat & Badge has been long associated with this famous boat race and so it is apt that he is at the helm of this Nicholson’s refurbishment.
Situated right in the heart of London on the southern banks of the river Thames, the Doggett’s Coat and Badge is split over four floors boasting five bars and three outside areas, including a glorious upper terrace bar where guests can enjoy stunning panoramic views of the city and St Paul’s Cathedral.